Pfad-632-neu9

A FOUNDATION FOR BACH IN LEIPZIG

The FOUNDATION

The Chorherren Foundation of St. Thomas’s was founded in 2001. It is a capital foundation based in the Bach city of Leipzig. It is run in collaboration by the Parish of St. Thomas, the City of Leipzig, the Bach Archive Leipzig, St. Thomas Boys Choir Leipzig and the sponsoring association Thomaskirche-Bach e.V.

BECOMING AN HONORARY FELLOW

Personalities who have made extraordinary contributions to increase the capital stock for the foundation’s purpose are honoured by being appointed as Honorary Fellows. All Honorary Fellows’ names are listed on the Honorary Fellows’ wall in the crossing of St. Thomas Church. They are appointed by the foundation’s Board of Trustees, which consists of members of the Convent and other public figures. As members of the Convent, the Honorary Fellows take part in the ongoing development of the foundation.

Honorary Fellows’ wall at St. Thomas Church
Honorary Fellows’ wall
Goal OF THE FOUNDATION
St. Thomas Church interior

The Chorherren Foundation of St. Thomas’s aims to foster the musical legacy of Johann Sebastian Bach with its spiritual connections, especially by sponsoring the international Bachfest Leipzig, St. Thomas Boys Choir and the education campus forum thomanum.

Education campus forum thomanum with villa thomana, St. Thomas School, boarding house of St. Thomas Boys Choir, forum thomanum Primary School and after school care centre
800 Years Thomana 2012
St. Thomas Church exterior
Johann Sebastian Bach
Sanctuary
Children make music at the forum thomanum
St. Thomas Boys Choir at St. Thomas Church
COMMUNITY OF INTERESTS

The Chorherren Foundation of St. Thomas’s forms a community of interests with the following institutions and associations.
The common goal is to cherish and foster the over 800 years old musical tradition of the THOMANA:

Pfad-632-neu9

Eine Stiftung für Bach in Leipzig

Die Stiftung

Die Stiftung Chorherren zu St. Thomae wurde im Jahr 2001 gegründet. Ihr Sitz ist in der Bachstadt Leipzig. Sie ist eine Kapitalstiftung. In ihr arbeiten die Kirchgemeinde St. Thomas, die Stadt Leipzig, das Bach-Archiv Leipzig, der Thomanerchor Leipzig und der Förderverein Thomaskirche-Bach e.V. zusammen.

Chorherr / Chordame Werden

Zu Chorherren und Chordamen werden Persönlichkeiten in Würdigung ihrer für den Stiftungszweck erbrachten außerordentlichen Leistungen zur Erweiterung des Kapitalstocks ernannt. Die Chorherren und Chordamen werden an der Chorherrenwand in der Vierung der Thomaskirche namentlich aufgeführt. Ihre Ernennung erfolgt durch das Kuratorium der Stiftung, das sich aus Mitgliedern des Konvents und weiteren Persönlichkeiten des öffentlichen Lebens zusammensetzt. Als Konvent sind die Chorherren und Chordamen an der Weiterentwicklung der Stiftung beteiligt.

Chorherrenwand in der Thomaskirche
Chorherrenwand
Zweck der Stiftung
Thomaskirche innen

Die Stiftung Chorherren zu St. Thomae hat sich zur Aufgabe gestellt, das musikalische Erbe von Johann Sebastian Bach in seinen geistlichen Bezügen insbesondere durch die Förderung des internationalen Bachfestes Leipzig, des Thomanerchors Leipzig und des Bildungscampus forum thomanum zu unterstützen.

Bildungscampus forum thomanum mit villa thomana, Thomasschule, Alumnat des Thomanerchores, forum thomanum Grundschule und Hort
800 Jahre Thomana 2012
Thomaskirche aussen
Johann Sebastian Bach
Altarraum
Kinder musizieren im forum thomanum
Thomanerchor in der Thomaskirche
Interessengemeinschaft

Die Stiftung Chorherren zu St. Thomae bildet zusammen mit den folgenden Institutionen und Vereinen eine Interessensgemeinschaft.
Durch sie soll die über 800-jährige Musiktradition der THOMANA gepflegt und lebendig erhalten werden: